International

The mission of the International Affairs Division is to coordinate the international activities of ONERA and represent the Office in dealings with international and European governance bodies. ONERA is also represented in Brussels within CLORA.

L'ONERA actions on the international stage take several forms:

International cooperation

ONERA is engaged in a large number of international collaborations by way of bilateral cooperation agreements, or participation in various European or international networks such as:

  • Research centre associations: EREA, ESRE, EARTO, IFAR;
  • An association of manufacturers, research centres and other organisations: ACARE;
  • Research centres: DLR, NASA, JAXA, TsAGI…

Support for the State

In the fields of defence and aeronautics, ONERA supports sovereign Research & Technology (R&T) actions in the frameworks of NATO and of GARTEUR.

European projects

In the framework of the European Union, ONERA contributes actively to the programmes and projects of the European Commission, the ESA and the EDA. The expertise provided by ONERA and the solutions that it develops within these collaborative projects contribute to the actions in support of European industry and the promotion of the French aerospace sector on the European stage and internationally.

Researcher mobility

In order to develop scientific excellence and exchanges with its partners, ONERA encourages the temporary mobility of its researchers with other international aerospace research centres, and the temporary hosting of European and international researchers in its own laboratories.

Scientific excellence

ONERA also encourages scientific excellence through the organisation of international events and seminars, and the awarding of prizes in the framework of bilateral agreements: ODAS Prize in association with DLR (Germany) and ONERA-TsAGI Prize in association with TsAGI (Russia).

International

La Direction des Affaires Internationales a pour mission de coordonner les activités internationales de l'ONERA et d'assurer la représentation de l'Office auprès des instances de gouvernance internationales et européennes. L'ONERA dispose aussi d'une représentation à Bruxelles au sein du CLORA.

L'ONERA s'investit sur la scène internationale selon plusieurs modalités :

Les coopérations internationales

L’ONERA est engagé dans un grand nombre de collaborations internationales au travers d’accords de coopération bilatéraux ou de participations à différents réseaux européens ou internationaux tels que :
  • Des associations de centres de recherche : EREA, ESRE, EARTO, IFAR
  • Une association d’industriels, de centres de recherche et autres organismes : ACARE
  • Des centres de recherche : DLR, NASA, JAXA, TsAGI…

Le soutien à l'Etat

Dans les domaines de la défense et de l'aéronautique, l'ONERA accompagne les actions régaliennes de Recherche et Technologie (R&T) dans les cadres de l'OTAN et du GARTEUR.

Les projets européens

Dans le cadre de l’Union Européenne, l'ONERA contribue activement aux programmes et projets de la Commission Européenne, de l'ESA et de l'EDA. L'expertise que l'ONERA apporte et les solutions qu’il développe dans ces projets collaboratifs contribuent aux actions d'accompagnement de l'industrie européenne et au rayonnement du secteur aérospatial français sur la scène européenne et internationale.

La mobilité de chercheurs

Afin de favoriser l'excellence scientifique et les échanges avec ses partenaires, l'ONERA encourage la mobilité temporaire de ses chercheurs auprès de centres de recherche aéronautique et spatial étrangers et l'accueil temporaire de chercheurs européens et internationaux dans ses laboratoires.

L'excellence scientifique

L'ONERA encourage également l'excellence scientifique par l'organisation d'événements ou séminaires internationaux et par la remise de prix dans le cadre d'accords bilatéraux : Prix ODAS avec le DLR (Allemagne) et prix ONERA-TsAGI avec le TsAGI (Russie).