Scientific High Council

The Scientific High Council serves as guarantor of the scientific excellence of ONERA. Think-tank, assessment and orientation body under the ONERA Chair of the Board, it assesses the scientific and technical level of ONERA, contributes to its national and international exposure, and supports its mission of preparing for the future.


Alain Schuhl

Chief Scientific Officer, CNRS [French National Centre for Scientific Research]

Nominated members

Tony Arts

Professor emeritus, University of Louvain, Belgium

Elsa Cortijo

Director of Basic Research, CEA [French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission]

Malik Ghallab

Research Director Emeritus, CNRS [French National Centre for Scientific Research]

Gérald Pignié

Expert Emeritus, General Inspectorate of ArianeGroup

Sylvie Pommier

Professor at ENS Paris-Saclay, also Director of the Doctoral College at Université Paris-Saclay

Pierre Sagaut

Professor, Université Aix-Marseille


Legal member(s)

Erwan Conan

[Ministry of Armed Forces]
Chief Technical Officer, DGA (French Defense Procurement Agency)

Pierre Moschetti [Ministry of the Ecological Transition]
Director of Aeronautical Engineering, DGAC (French Civil Aviation Authority)
Laurent Vigroux [Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation]
Senior Advisor



Francis Dupoirieux

Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, ONERA